Western Region Winners Named for 2022 America’s Transportation Awards Competition

WASHINGTON—Eight state department of transportation projects in Alaska, California, Idaho, Texas, and Washington earned regional recognition in the 2022 America’s Transportation Awards competition. The award contest honored those projects for creating a “compass” to guide active transportation development; providing a safe and reliable evacuation route for an island village; and developing a more equitable and comprehensive public engagement tool for current and future transportation projects, among others.

“State DOTs are overwhelmingly focused on innovative solutions to address the transportation issues of today and tomorrow, meeting challenges involving climate change, equity, resiliency, and safety,” said Jim Tymon, executive director of the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials. “The America’s Transportation Awards program shows just how they’re doing that. Whether on foot, in a vehicle, on two wheels, or by rail or transit, state DOTs are continuing to advance a safe, multimodal transportation system.”

Sponsored by AASHTO, AAA, and the U.S. Chamber of Commerce, the competition serves as a way to recognize state DOTs and highlights the projects they deliver that make their communities a better place to live, work, and play. Project nominations fall into one of three categories: Operations Excellence, Best Use of Technology & Innovation, and Quality of Life/Community Development.

All nominated projects will first compete on a regional level against projects of their own size: “Small” (projects costing up to $25 million), “Medium” (projects costing between $25 million and $200 million), and “Large” (projects costing more than $200 million).

In the Western region, 12 states nominated 22 projects, with five state DOTs taking home the following eight America’s Transportation Awards.

The three highest-scoring projects from each regional competition earn a place on a “Top 12” list of projects that will compete for the national Grand Prize – selected by an independent panel of industry judges – and the People’s Choice Award, chosen by the public through online voting. In addition, those top national winners each receive $10,000 cash awards to be donated to a charity or scholarship of the state DOT’s choosing.

The 12 finalists will be announced and online voting for the People’s Choice Award will begin in September, after all regional winners have been announced. AASHTO will reveal the winners for both the People’s Choice Award and the Grand Prize this October at its 2022 Annual Meeting in Orlando.